Least we can do

26 Aug

It was another rainy Sunday afternoon; no one was home except a lethargic person deep in sleep (that would be me).

Doorbell rang

#pause

Rang again

I lifted my body off the bed; cursing the visitor I opened the door…

There were two guys, mid twenty, with folders in their hands and smile on their face. They were about to leave when I opened the door (Damn! Bad timing).

I thought they were neighbors, since we had never interacted, I asked to come in.

Well, as it turned out soon, they were wipro employees, volunteering for CRY.

Now, it doesn’t take a genius to understand why they were here.

donate_page

Before I go further, let me state a fact – “I m really bad at saying no, usually I can’t, specially to strangers”

So, they explained me the donation thing and all, and as I saw in the paper the donation amount was mentioned, reluctantly I chose the minimum amount, that was Rs. 1200.

Wrote them a cheque, filled the form, dedicated it to mom (they had some) and done.

Then they went to the next house and I was left cursing myself for giving donation after a salary reduction.

I got over the regret in few days, till today when came across this video through Facebook

And then this post,

We see things around us, think to do something and after some time just forget. That’s what happens almost all the time.

Well, then I received an email from CRY, to thank me for the gesture. And for the first time, I was glad that I wrote that cheque.

I really appreciate the work pulkit and samvedana guys are doing. I know most of us don’t have that much time or/and dedication to put in so much effort.

This is the LEAST WE CAN DO.

9 Responses to “Least we can do”

  1. saurabh August 26, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    hey! i know someone who was asked the same question – “what would you do with Rs 500?”, probably by the same team who made this youtube video. he said he would open a startup!! not surprised he wasn’t featured 😀

    • @nks August 31, 2009 at 7:58 am #

      a startup with 500 bucks … :O … sabzi bechne ka kya ??

  2. Shivanand Manthalkar August 26, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    lovely video and a good write up. Well done my friend, good gesture. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Shehrazad August 27, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    In our own little way, well yeah.

    Although I know for a fact many of us find even this much too much to do.

  4. Rock25 August 27, 2009 at 3:43 pm #

    gud idea bro!!!gud write up also.!!!!!u should nt hav thot aabt the min amount!!!!bt still i m happy for tht

  5. Diva August 31, 2009 at 7:30 am #

    The worst is when people are ready to spend Rs.100-150 just for a cup of coffee and do not mind paying the exxxtra VAT in the bill, without asking where it goes or what it means…. and then go and fight with the autowala who asked u Rs.5 above the meter fare just because your place is a lil’ far away from the mainroad!

    I hav been supporting CRY since I was a kid myself… Thanks for the kind gesture 🙂

  6. @nks August 31, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    @all thanks … but my intention of writing this was just to encourage my fellow blogger and readers, that we all think the same. But never do any thing about it though it needs very less effort 🙂

  7. mehar September 9, 2009 at 5:52 am #

    Hello Friend,  Hope everything is fine.
    I am a researcher from psychology department. Interested in bloggers and their behavior. My  research topic is “Blogging Improves Self-Identity”.  In connection with my research I need your help.  If you spare your mail id, I will be sending  the research questionnaire’s to your mail Id.   You can give your responses to the questionnaire. My mail Id is meharun@gmail.com. Kindly cooperate in this survey. Your response will be used only for research purpose.  To end with friendly note, I am always ready to help you if you have any queries or doubts related to psychology. Thank you.
     
    Meharunnisha
    Doctoral Candidate
    Dept of Psychology
    Bharathiar University
    Coimbatore – 641046
    Tamil Nadu, India
    meharun@gmail.com

  8. Ayesha September 18, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    Charity is good thing but one should make sure to give to the established and renowned charitable organizations.

    In Pakistan there is no dearth of such organiztions. They too often go from door to door but not everyone is trustworthy. I had been duped so many times by fake charities 😦

Leave a Reply

