Gulal – review

14 Mar


I don’t write reviews … this is probably my first review … but when I saw such a bad response from audience for such an exceptional movie, I couldn’t resist.

gulaal-2009-3b-1_1235468622

I am not an Anurag Kashyap fan, I enjoyed Dev D but I was not awestruck as I was by this one. It’s a movie which reaches to your brain and squeeze it so badly that either you can’t stand the pain and quit or just enjoys it till the climax.

I don’t know about Rajasthan, but spending my teenage in MP, I’ve seen how filthy college politics could be. I could so relate me, you, any one to Dileep Singh played by Raja Chaudhary. That is what exactly happens to many bright students who are just there to study but ultimately end up loosing themselves, just because they get sick of being called fattoo.

And there is one name which should be praised more than Mr. Kashyap for the movie, and that name is Piyush Mishra. He is the Music Director, Lyricist and Actor in the movie. There’s no doubt that songs of the movie are outstanding and have been placed so perfectly it carries the tension and mood from the beginning to the end.

Gulal is pleasant break from the usual ha ha he he ho ho cinema. I would strongly recommend this movie for two and a half hour of tryst with reality.

22 Responses to “Gulal – review”

  1. Himank March 14, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    Me too… me too!! Luvd the movie… Specially the way the issue of recognition of the illegitimate child carried the story.. wondeful!! 🙂

  2. Kulbir Saini March 14, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    thanks for the review … will wait for the DVD now … 🙂

  3. Sumeet March 15, 2009 at 3:30 am #

    Havent seen the movie but expecting a lot from it !
    So far i have seen mostly positive responses for the movie 🙂

    @kulbir : Did i get it wrong ? Tou mean ‘DVD print’ right ? 😉

  4. karan March 15, 2009 at 5:51 am #

    Gulal is a movie that give rise to mixed feelings. Half part of the movie is good, but the end is totally idiotic but ironic. The cinematography could have been better and the movie could have been edited more professionally.

  5. Abhishek Sainani March 15, 2009 at 9:04 am #

    wow, sounds good… I did like the trailer, it was intense and powerful…!

  6. Kulbir Saini March 17, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    @Sumeet You are right. I meant DVD print 🙂

  7. Ayesha March 17, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

    I’d soon watch it. Though from the promos the movie looked strangely different.

  8. dushyant arora March 19, 2009 at 7:32 pm #

    THE MOVIE IS A RARE MASTER PIECE. I’M NOT A ANURAG KASHYAP FAN EITHER, BUT THIS MOVIE IS FASCINATING PIECE OF CINEMA.

  9. pk March 22, 2009 at 9:04 am #

    DEADLY was my one word expression when i walked out of this hall.

    And i agree to all who are in awe of this movie, coming from jaipur myself and having heard of such cases in 1990’s i can so related to the movie…

    but all in all piyush mishra was awesome and “ransa” is someone you fall in love with at first shot 😉

    “daaru peete ho?”
    “haan”
    “cigrette?”
    “haan. aur awaragardi bhi karta hoon, laundiya baji bhi!”

  10. sudhir March 25, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    I recommend this movie to all those people who love real Cinema, not just dhisum dhishum.
    Acting, Music, Story keeps you binding till the end

  11. Raghunandan March 27, 2009 at 10:04 am #

    Karn, I feel you know the least about editing and cinematography, both were exelent for the film and script, being dragged for 7 year old film, it is 70 years ahead of the filmworld, and in all aspect its a complete perfect cinema, and hard rock solid, if u miss it in the big screen, then u have suffered a huge loss.

  12. Abhishek March 30, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    r u guys really serious??? the movie was a badly presented version of a regular politics based movie… and u liked dev-d… god help u!!!

  13. Lucky March 30, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    I m here via Abhinav’s blog ……….GULAL is a program who has something wrong in his design phase .all modules are nicely created,integrated as its best but no output….no conclusion …… Lyrics are good but seems that poet want to express its all writing in s single movie ………..a poetry “ae rat ke musafir ” can be heard even after completion of all star casting …….. 😉

    Neways a dialog is really impressive ” Arey hai to sabhi madhyapradesh se …..ye batao tum kaha se ho “

  14. r.p singh April 2, 2009 at 9:01 am #

    excellent film.

    moral of the story is – Rajputs me phale be kabe unite nahi ho sake the or aa bhe possible nahi hai,

    or

    Rajput aapas me ladte rahe gaye or gola jeet gaya !!

  15. DiVa April 13, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    Ok, I m intrigued.. But how do i get to watch it?? The CD wala close to my place neither has Firaaq nor this!!!! 😦

    • @nks April 14, 2009 at 5:13 am #

      since the movie is off the screens … i think u’ve to wait for the DVD to release …

      watching it on a pirated CD would be an insult to the masterpiece … 🙂

  16. Anish Joseph April 16, 2009 at 6:44 pm #

    The movie is really rocking. A fine blend of real cinema with commercial. All the actors are just awesome. Director deserves lot of credit in bringing a novel yet mind blowing movie.

  17. Manzish May 10, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    Gulal is one of the most satisfying Indian movie I have seen. It is different from the Indian conventional standards. Perhaps, that might be a reason majority of Indians rejected it. You watch this movie for the whole lenght thinking its about something but after the climax you realize its about something else. It was a brilliant idea, IMHO, to tell the main sstory through the eyes of a supporting character w.r.t. main plot of the story. As a result, main plot is made look like a sub-plot and the sub-plot takes the driving seat. It’s, I beleive, intentional. In addition to this intelligent twist in story telling, movie is worth seeing for brilliant performances, hard hitting dialogues, lyrics that touch your soul, music that is simple yet powerful and in total a brilliant movie.

  18. Shehrazad July 31, 2009 at 6:23 am #

    I expected it to be a “different-intelligent-striking” movie as I watched it on my PC.

    Well, it is indeed different from the run-of-the-mill stuff. Intelligent? Can’t say. Striking? It was, but the real twists and turns weren’t as impactful as you’d want them.

    In totality, I found it a dark movie. Not very entertaining, not much too take home either.

  19. Shehrazad July 31, 2009 at 6:24 am #

    I expected it to be a “different-intelligent-striking” movie as I watched it on my PC.

    Well, it is indeed different from the run-of-the-mill stuff. Intelligent? Can’t say. Striking? It was, but the real twists and turns weren’t as impactful as you’d want them.

    In totality, I found it a dark movie. Not very entertaining, not much too to take home either.

    • @nks July 31, 2009 at 9:36 am #

      well it also depends on person’s taste …

      and i do agree on it being a dark movie …

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shaitan and CineMax Bangalore – Review « nothin… much - June 12, 2011

    […] movie is dark no doubt about it, but not as dark as either of the movies I reviewed before, LSD and Gulaal. But it had it’s high points. The story is pretty simple 5 friends, boozing and doping, one […]

Leave a comment